MeGoose

Would like some assistance with this issue....

Hi All,

I have a 1998 Honda Foreman 400 foot shift that I recently acquired and it's my first ATV.

The neutral/green light is always on and it starts in gear always.

There seems to be only 1 forward gear, I can't get into neutral, so there is also no reverse.

The previous owner grounded 1 pin inside a 2 pin connector to the right rear wheel well so it will always start in gear. Why? When I reconnected this wire back to normal in its connector, the electric start button would no longer work.

I want to put everything back to normal so I have all the forward gears, neutral and reverse.

I have no further knowledge in what to do and I'm looking for help.

Thanks.

they ground it to start it, as the neutral switch is bad, instead of replacing the switch ?, they took the stupid cheap way out, and grounded the wire to bypass the switch. as for no forward gears ?, this can be a few things, bad transmission ?, bad shift drum ?, clutch not right ?, hard to say. you may have to pull the motor, and split it to see if anything is bad inside the cases ?.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, shadetree said:

they ground it to start it, as the neutral switch is bad, instead of replacing the switch ?, they took the stupid cheap way out, and grounded the wire to bypass the switch. as for no forward gears ?, this can be a few things, bad transmission ?, bad shift drum ?, clutch not right ?, hard to say. you may have to pull the motor, and split it to see if anything is bad inside the cases ?.

Hi

It does start in gear and the neutral green light is always on. There is a forward gear, however no reverse.  Where is the neutral switch? Per the online manual - inside the alternator?

16 minutes ago, MeGoose said:

Hi

It does start in gear and the neutral green light is always on. There is a forward gear, however no reverse.  Where is the neutral switch? Per the online manual - inside the alternator?