walhonding300

Truck Question

After atv's, I am assuming the folks here know a lot about trucks also lol...

I have a 2015 Silverado with the electric steering.  The steering seems, recently, to be softer.  Maybe the smallest amount of play but it does have 128,000 miles.  Everything under the truck is still tight and it still tracks pretty straight.  The tires are old and I do need new ones.  I have no experience with the electric steering so I do not know how aging would feel with it.  Maybe an alignment but if it drifts in the slightest, it is not specific to one side.  Any input would be appreciated.

• Like 1

Might be a long shot, but i just watched a 'garage' show on tv last night where they had a Chevy HHR with no PS. Ended up being a service bulletin on the electric steering system & they had to replace the steering column. Have you looked online for any GM service bulletins related to your truck?

• Like 2

wal', I was a Ford guy coming up as a kid when I never knew any better , then when I grew up and achieved some sense , I became a  Dodge guy >>>  LOL  >> > I feel for you being a Chevy guy -----   electric steering ? > never knew there was such a thing on trucks , will say a prayer on your behalf , might have to light a candle on that one ^^^     

So what everyone is saying is my issues are bigger then the steering lol...

I've always been a Ford guy.  This is the first Chevy I have owned and I do like the truck.  If it were traditional power steering I would know more of what I am feeling.  The electric is just new to me.  Maybe its fine or normal for a truck with a few miles like this one?

Seems a ground issue must be common on your model.  Cause when I searched the subject of electric power steering on a Chevy there are many ground issue videos.  

1 hour ago, walhonding300 said:

I was seeing that a lot also.  I just haven't been able to pin point the problem, even if there really is one.