Wolf

TRX420FM 2007 no spark

I am at my wits end trying to get spark on this Rancher that I bought used. The spark plug is new. All the fuses are good. Diodes tested are good. The safety swich has been replaced. The coil test good but I replaced it as well just to be sure. The CDI unit is OEM new. The stator tests good. The pick up coil tests good. I do not have a "peak voltage " tester but may need to get one. If the gap on the pick up is too wide I can see that as a problem. I have not messed with the votage regulator as that should not be involved. I hope that is correect. All the grounds test good. So what am I missing? HELP! wolf

Hi Wolf , welcome to the forum , I am not a 420 guy by trade and not 100% sure , that it was a 420 that I was reading about ,  but recently read a thread that the voltage regulator was the problem for no spark ---- seems you changed everything else ---- someone more knowledgeable than me will come along @retro , it has be theorized , by me , that a  bad voltage regulator could possibly cause a no spark on a 420 , does that statement hold water ? 

I have read that in the FOREMAN that it may play a role but not in the RANCHER. I just tested the voltage regulator and it tests OK. So that is not the issue. Thanks for the reply. wolf

Do you have 12V on the black/red wire at the coil?  @Melatv walked me through all of this when I had a 420. 

The wires going to the coil are green/yellow and black/brown stripe. The g/y is hot with 12 volts plus with ignition on. The blk wire is a ground that tested good to ground. Wolf 

Sounds like you've covered everything that I would know to try.  Maybe @Melatv has an idea.  He's been around the last couple of days, so hopefully he'll chime in.

@retro might be able to tell you how to cobble up a cheap peak voltage meter.

420 wiring.JPG

420 troubleshooting.JPG