JPelletier

Canadian 86' TRX 350

Hi!

I never owned a VTT and I'm a Software Engineer with very basin knowledge in Mechanics. Last autumn, I got 2 Fourtrax (86' and 91') that have been stored for a few years for cheap, and one more for pieces. I already have a tread on another forum but @shadetree really really want me to post my projects here 😉 This thread is for the 86' restoration!

Plastics are not in good shape, but I'll use it on my woodland so I don't care.. for now 🙂

original.jpg

First I changed battery, Spark plug, drained old gas / oil than used a bit of Sea Foam in gas tank and Marvel Mystery Oil inside the cylinder to make it start! 

Now the real fun start, engine doesn't sounds good when running and something continue spinning after stopping it: https://photos.app.goo.gl/7jEyWZkM99TYcr5u5  

With the help of @shadetree I confirmed that Timing chain is dead, I can insert adjuster almost completely and after removing the cover, I saw damages caused by the chain probably hitting cover while running

IMG_20200501_162118.jpg IMG_20200430_185825.jpg 

And the spinning sounds is caused by the from Centrifugal clutch one way bearing totally dead, and the linings are totally worn too.

IMG_20200502_113348.jpg IMG_20200502_113907.jpg

Hopefully, the Centrifugal clutch and Bearing on my "parts vtt" seems in good shape, si I will use this one. Now I'm waiting for a new chain, gasket, orings, sealing washers this week!

• Like 3

Here is the Centrifugal clutch from my "parts vtt". On the side by side picture, the old one is on the left and the "new old one" on the right. Arms are worn too but it seems impossible to find Aftermarket so I hope it will do the job

IMG_20200503_132934.jpg IMG_20200503_133554.jpg

• Like 4

bout time you started posting pics !..lol. your in great hands here !.

• Haha 1

1 hour ago, shadetree said:

bout time you started posting pics !..lol. your in great hands here !.